2001-02 BUCCANEERS: Front Row (L-R) – Statistician Mallory Hall, Statistician Monica Batdorf. Second Row (L-R) – Derrick Canan, B.J. Owens, Dusty Hess, Ben Adams, Billy Wendel. Top Row (L-R) – Coach Tom Barbee, David Taylor, Jesse Hitt, David White, Josh Vargo, Mike Stephan, Asst. Coach Eric Vanderhorst.

The Covington Buccaneers only had ten wrestlers competing, which is a surprise considering the significant additions made through the construction of a wrestling facility a year ago. Still, despite the low numbers and the addition of three wrestlers who entered the season with no experience, the Buccaneers put together a successful season by accumulating an 83-55 overall record – 11-11 in duals and 72-44 in tournaments.

The reason for the success was due to the hard work and determination fo the seven experienced wrestlers – all of whom placed in the top five in the Sectional Tournament. Five of those advanced to the District Tournament; Billy Wendel, Derrick Canan, B.J. Owens, Mike Stephan and Dusty Hess. The Buccaneers placed 16th out of 49 teams at Districts and had two placers; District Champion Mike Stephan and sixth place finisher Derrick Canan. By winning a District Championship, Mike Stephan advanced to the state meet for the second straight season at 171 pounds.

At state, Mike came up just short of placing as he went 2-2 on the biggest stage. His two losses were very close and cam to wrestlers who finished runner-up and third place at state.

Two wrestlers made the history books as Mike Stephan set new school records in single season wins (47), single season takedowns (204), and a career record of 103-22 (82.4%). He also became second in single season points (243) and career takedowns (323) and fifth in single season record (47-3, 94%) and single season near falls (53), seventh in single season pins (22) and career near falls (111), eight in career wins (103) and career points (551), and ninth in career pins (56). Ben Adams made the books by becoming tenth in single season takedowns (80).

Mike Stephan qualified for state for the second straight season.
Jesse Hitt
David Taylor
Derrick Canan
Dusty Hess
Mike Stephan