2008-09: Buccs Take Their Lumps at Mechanicsburg

Andrew DeHart locks up a cradle.

The Covington High School and Jr. High wrestling teams traveled to Mechanicsburg Tuesday night to square off against the host Indians. The high school squad ran into a buzz saw as Mechanicsburg rolled to a 48-18 victory.

The Indians took the first two victories at 135 and 140 lbs., as Covington’s Tyler Tebbe dropped his bout to two-time State qualifier Nick Ziegler and Cory Ely fell to District qualifier Brendon Klaus.

At 145 lbs., Covington’s Andrew DeHart scored a couple takedowns and nearfall before pinning Dalton Black. Mechanicsburg would win the next bout, though, as Aaron Devenport (152) fell to District alternate Kyle Reese.

The marquee match up of the night featured Covington’s Jake Jennings (160), a District qualifier vs. Mechanicsburg’s Ethan Price, who placed 6th at the State last season. Jennings trailed by one heading into the third period and worked hard for a nearfall, but ultimately had to let Price on his feet to attempt a takedown, which Price secured to win the match.

Mechanicsburg’s next State qualifier, Cody Rodgers defeated Josh McMillion (171) by technical fall followed by Ty Wasserman’s victory over Josh Shefbuch (189). The Indians would win the next three bouts by forfeit before Covington’s Sam Herron (119) dropped a major decision to district qualifier Bryce Baker. The Buccs would capture the remaining two bouts as Matt Breisch (125) and Ben Wilson (130) each picked up forfeits to conclude the dual.

Covington’s Jr. High team faired better on the evening as they secured a 52-33 victory over the Indians. Brock Smith scored first for the Buccs with 12-1 major decision at 86 lbs. The Indians would respond, however, winning the next four bouts to take a 21-4 lead.

At 116 lbs, Jacob Sowers would spark Covington with a first period pin, leading to a string of six straight victories for the Buccs. Kyler Deeter (122), Dalton Bordelon (128) and Alex Bitner (134) each won by pin while Elijah Laughman (140) and Brian Olson (150) picked up forfeits.

The final two Buccaneer victories also came by forfeit as Ben Sherman (172) and Joey Hess (205) each went uncontested. Also competing for the jr. high squad were Zack Collins (92), Justin Millhouse (98), D.J. Jennings (104), Will Gillespie (110), Tres Wirt (122), Justin Daniel (160) and Isaac Schaefer (245).

On Saturday, the high school travels to the Versailles Invitational, while the jr. high will wrestle at the Tipp City Invitational.

Jake Jennings wrestled tough against a state placer, but fell short of victory.