2004-05: Bucc Wrestlers Fall to Versailles

Jake Wise

Covington wrestled hard against the number one ranked D3 team in the Miami Valley, but couldn’t muster enough horsepower to hang with the Tigers, losing 53-15. The Buccs were forced to spot the Tigers 24 points due to forfeits and were unable to gain the edge in matches wrestled. Despite the outcome, it was an exciting dual with the stands packed and most of the matches going the full six minutes with half of them coming by regular decision.

Two of the best matches involved Bobby Wiltshire (140 lbs.) and Brian Ely (171 lbs.). Wiltshire was able to come away with narrow 3-2 decision over Aaron Condon of Versailles, while Ely dropped a tight 3-1 decision, which almost went into overtime, to Versailles‚ Rusty Beisner.

The best performances were probably put in by Covington’s Logan Brown (189 lbs.) and Versailles‚ Dave Bernholt (145 lbs.). Brown built up a 16-2 lead before pinning Alex Davis of Versailles with only 2 seconds remaining to remain unbeaten on the season. Bernholt displayed his dominance from the top position, earning a number of nearfall before pinning Logan Hall of Covington. Also winning by pin for the Buccs was Jordan Tebbe at 112 lbs. He scored a number of points before earning a pin in just over one minute.

The Buccs travel to Ben Logan on Tuesday, Feb. 1, then host a Parents Night meet with Dayton Christian and Twin Valley South on Friday, Feb. 4.

Versailles 53, Covington 15
189: Logan Brown (C) won by fall over Alex Davis (V), 5:57
215: Mark Keiser (V) won by forfeit
275: Eli Oliver (V) won by decision over C.J. Potter (C), 7-3
103: Jordan Trump (V) won by forfeit
112: Jordan Tebbe (C) won by fall over Josh Berger (V), 1:19
119: Derek Oliver (V) won by forfeit
125: Jason Baird (V) won by forfeit
130: Kyle Kueterman (V) won by technical fall over Ryan White (C), 20-5
135: Trent Barga (V) won by decision over Justin McMillion (C), 8-3
140: Bobby Wiltshire (C) won by decision over Aaron Condon (V), 3-2
145: Dave Bernholt (V) won by fall over Logan Brown (C), 3:15
152: Dave Oliver (V) won by decision over Ryan Vanderhorst (C), 7-0
160: Cody Grieshop (V) won by fall over Kyle Chalmers (C), 5:09
171: Rusty Beisner (V) won by decision over Brian Ely (C), 3-1

Logan Brown